Sleep Sack # 2

In the previous blog I said not to use a woven fabric for a pattern designed for knits only.  Well I broke my own rule by making a sack from a man’s shirt I got from the thrift store with a knits only pattern.  Idea from this blog.  I thought about using the shirt like the blog but nurses on the rez see so many moms under the age of 20, I wasn’t sure that teens would know to look for loose buttons or even have the knowledge or supplies to sew one on.  Buttons on clothing would probably be better advised in the toddler age group or the early months of infancy when they aren’t putting everything in their mouths.

So basically I made a full back pattern from the Kwik Sew pattern ,which I placed on the fold of the tracing paper, traced it, then cut the back of the sack from the back of the shirt. I folded the back pattern in half to find the center, placed that line on the center of the buttons on the front of the shirt,  pinned it and cut it out. I folded the front piece in half lengthwise and cut down the center so I could add the zipper to each side. I used the Kwik Sew front pattern piece as a guide to cut the front neck lower than the back.

The zipper and shoulders were put in per the Kwik Sew pattern. This time I used bias tape not ribbing. You can buy or make your own as seen here, here and here. I get 4 packages for a $1 at the recycle store so used it. There are many ways to attach it. I chose to attach as if it were interfacing and sewed the tape on the front as was done in the blog we are referencing but then just turned it completely to the inside and sewed it down by top stitching it on the front. I also applied it to the sleeves the same way, then sewed the sack back to the front from one sleeve opening to the next. Remember if you need to shorten the zipper, sew over the end of the zipper either by hand or machine a few times so it will not separate. Also to finish the  seams so they do not fray, serge them, turn them over at the edge and sew the edge, pink them or zigzag them.

You could make this pattern out of any cotton weave or cotton /polyester weave you might have on hand. Using this pattern with a weave does not give as much stretch to the bottom. For the younger babies this would not be an issue but as kids get older if using woven material, find a pattern designed for woven material. Or on this one enlarge the bottom so that there is more leg and foot room by taking the pattern out at more of an angle at the bottom and add some length. You could also trace a sleep sack pattern and add some seams as was done in the blog.

In the next blog, for those of you who have zipper phobia or do not want the expense of a zipper, I will show you how to make a simpler one. Stay tuned.

Join our Sew For Lakota Kids yahoo group.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Sleep Sack # 2

  1. Hello everyone! My name is Michelle, I have been heading up the prenatal program at Rosebud. We have heard so many great things from our patients who have received the diaper bags. As most of you know poverty is a huge issue on the reservation, many of the parents lack even the basic essentials for the baby. The diaper bags we provide can really give the parents something to enjoy for their baby.

Leave a Reply

