Smitten With Mittens

YOU may have noticed that I have not been blogging much lately. Why? Because two little munchkins arrived this past week with their mother.

( Lukas and Mason with their quillows) Also 3 days a week I mentor students at the elementary school and in English as a Second Language. However, I still am finding some time to sew in the evenings when all is quiet. I have lots to make in the next few months as the cold weather sets in.

I was looking at the blog page for Sew For Kids the other day and I noticed that the morning temperatures on the Rez are now in the 30s. BRRR! That’s cold when you don’t have proper attire to wear or a properly heated house.

As you know from a recent post, my sewing room was in need of a major clean up. As I cleaned I found lots of items I could make with my “treasures”. With the scraps of fleece the idea of mittens immediately came to mind. Most of the scraps were big enough for a large child’s mitten. There are two kinds of fleece: light weight fleece and polar fleece. Polar fleece is preferable for mittens for the Rez winters since it is heavier and warmer but it is a little more expensive to buy.  If you use a lighter fleece in the really cold climates you need to line the fleece so it works out to be about the same price.




Although a friend provided me with  mitten patterns I searched online for free patterns for our readers to use. I came across this one that’s  listed on our free pattern  page and made a pair but used fleece instead of felt and ribbing for the cuff instead of knitting one. This is  another cute mitten pattern to make and this pattern and this pattern are easy enough for older children (8 years plus) to make. The pattern found on this family fun site  can be made with recycled material. This site  has patterns for all sizes with fabric suggestions to use. And there are many more to be found on the web.

While resaleing I found a polar fleece book called Polarfleece Pizzazz by Ruthann Spiegelhoff and Judy Laube  for $1.25.  Not only does it have mittens in various sizes and styles but also has other fleece projects like hats, slippers, pulllovers and other items to make in the future. I also found a pattern called Easy Mittens #603 by Timber Lane Press that also provides mittens in the various sizes with lots of options. And if any of you are oliver +s fans,  Liesl Gibson’s book “little things to sew” provides a mitten pattern. It is a cute book that I got at the library but it  is one I am considering purchasing since it has some really cute ideas for us to use.

I ended up making 22 pairs of fleece mittens  in 3 evenings of work. We welcome the skills of all crafters who sew, crochet, weave, knit, etc. to help make mittens for the Rez.  Mittens will be used for the Christmas project, the Head Start, the clinic, the school and social services, all who look out for the interests of the children.


On a final note while I was searching the web for mitten patterns I came across this news story about a Minnesota sewing circle making mittens to for people in need. This Minnesotan area faces the same temperature challenges and rural isolation as the Rez and what they do for the needy people in their area is what we want to do on the Rez for the children. All family members play a part in this project with the husbands watching the kids so the women can sew. So get your family  involved and help make some mittens for children in your community and for children on the Rez. When it’s cold outside they’ll bless you for your warm heart as their hands warm up with your thoughtful gifts.

Thanks from Sew For Kids.

Leave a Reply

