The Gift project -Week 3

It’s been a busy week because of my volunteer responsibilities in my community so I chose a simple project for this week’s toy blog and even went out and bought something because of time constraints.

I bought a child’s puzzle at the local dollar store for $2. Puzzles provide a good learning tool for kids. The one thing I hate about puzzles is that there always seems to be a piece or two missing when the grandkids pull them out to play.
While searching blogs I came across this idea and thought it would be a great solution to misplaced puzzle pieces. Attaching a pocket to the back of the puzzle seemed easy enough so this is how I did it.

I used felt material . I measured my puzzle length and width. I subtracted 1” from each measurement so would have clearance around all edges, then doubled the length measurement and subtracted 2 inches so that the front would be 2 inches shorter than the back. The  extra 2 inches on the back piece would fold over to form a flap.   For example my puzzle measured 9×12 so I cut the fabric 8 x 20.  Fold the fabric lengthwise so the back is 2” longer than the front, wrong sides together.  Sew side seams twice to reinforce.   Fold flap over front, add snaps or velcro and glue pocket not the flap piece to the  puzzle back.   I am no longer”puzzled “about what to do!  I’ve solved my puzzle problem, now all I have to do is convince the grandkids to put the pieces into the pocket before putting it away.

This project was quick, easy and inexpensive and would be a great Christmas gift for the Wanblee children.  Thanks for your help, ideas and photos always welcomed!

Leave a Reply

